Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

Bishop Discernment & Nominating Committee

Bishop Discernment & Nominating Committee (BDNC)

Roles & Responsibilities

What is the role of the BDNC in the Bishop Transition? Please review the Charge to the Bishop Discernment and Nominating Committee. Click here to read/download the Charge.

Chairperson & Chaplain

The Standing Committee is pleased to announce the selection of Maggie Thompson from Christ Church, Montpelier, as the chairperson for the BDNC. Maggie brings a wealth of knowledge and leadership skills to this important position as the process moves forward to find a new Bishop for Vermont. We are also pleased to announce the selection of the Rev. Carole Wageman as the Chaplain for the Standing Committee, BDNC, Transition Committee, and candidates for bishop. Carole brings a deep spiritual link for all who will be involved in the process of selecting the next bishop. She is a retired priest in the Diocese and active in other endeavors. We look forward to working with both Maggie and Carole and have the utmost confidence in their care and concern for all in the diocese.

Maggie Thompson and the Rev. Carole Wageman


Maggie Thompson, BDNC Chair | Christ Church, Montpelier
Ann Guillot | Cathedral Church of St. Paul, Burlington
Corrie Wilcox | Christ Church, Montpelier
Eric Davis | St. Stephen’s, Middlebury
Valerie Abrahamsen | St. Michael’s, Brattleboro
James Biernat | St. Mark’s, Newport
The Rev. Zarina Suárez O’Hagin | St. John’s in the Mountains, Stowe
The Rev. John Miller | St. James, Arlington
The Rev. Lisa Ransom | St. James, Woodstock
The Rev. Scott Neal | St. Paul’s, White River Junction
The Rev. Christine Moseley | St. Mark’s, Newport

Please note that the Rev. Carole Wageman serves as Chaplain for the Standing Committee, BDNC, Transition Committee, and candidates for bishop.


To contact the BDNC, please send an email to

Leave a Reply

You may use: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Copyright © 2019 – 2023 The Episcopal Church in Vermont.