Sacred Ground Race Dialogue Series Offers Informational Webinars

FROM THE EPISCOPAL CHURCH OFFICE OF PUBLIC AFFAIRS

Individuals or groups interested in learning more about Sacred Ground: a film-based dialogue series on race and faith, are invited to an introductory webinar hosted by Katrina Browne, Sacred Groundcurriculum developer, and producer/director of the acclaimed documentary Traces of the Trade: A Story from the Deep North

Built around a curriculum of powerful documentary films, videos, and readings, Sacred Ground is a 10-part series that considers some of the major chapters of the United States of America’s history of race and racism.  It focuses on Indigenous, Black, Latino, and Asian American histories as they intersect with European American histories.  It also invites participants to weave in the threads of personal and family story, economic class, and political and regional identity.

In this webinar, Katrina Browne shares the “why and how” of the Sacred Ground series. She also walks participants through the online Sacred Ground curriculum and resources, including the password-protected pages, to provide participants with an overview of all the elements of this resource. There will also be time for questions.

This free one-hour webinar is offered:

  • Monday, April 8, 1pm Eastern (noon Central/11am Mountain/10am Pacific/9am Alaska/7am Hawaii); Register here.
  • Monday, May 6, 4pm Eastern (3pm Central/2pm Mountain/1pm Pacific/noon Alaska/10am Hawaii); Register here.
  • Tuesday June 11, 1pm Eastern (noon Central/11am Mountain/10am Pacific/9am Alaska/7am Hawaii); Register here.

Space is limited and registration is required.

“More than a teaching tool, Sacred Ground calls us into intentional, sustained circles in which we can pray, watch, share our own stories, reflect, wonder, reckon, heal, and commit to action.  Think of it as a pilgrimage in place,” notes the Rev. Canon Stephanie Spellers.

Click here to begin to explore the Sacred Ground webpages, and to sign up to receive additional resources.  The press release for the series is here.

For questions, please contact Katrina Browne at consultantbbc@episcopalchurch.org.

Webinar support graciously provided by Episcopal Migration Ministries.

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email