Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

St. James Essex Junction to Host Ecumenical Book Study, Discussion for Advent & Epiphany

ESSEX JUNCTION, VT – Jesus was born over 2,000 years ago. How might he be reborn in our hearts today? What might the future of Christian faith be along with the Church that has nourished his message for two millennia? Are you longing for a deeper, more engaged Christmas season? During the Advent and Epiphany seasons, St. James Episcopal Church in Essex Junction will be exploring these topics during an eight-week study and discussion of The Rebirthing of God by John Philip Newell.

As hosts the Rev. Kim Hardy and Michael Hechmer explain, the book is neither long nor difficult. It is broken into eight chapters, each about 15 pages. The Rev. John Philip Newell, a Presbyterian pastor, writes effectively from the viewpoint of Celtic spirituality. This opportunity is offered to the entire Christian community of northwest Vermont in both Tuesday morning and Thursday evening sessions to accommodate as many as possible. Sessions are scheduled for 10:00 a.m. on Tuesday, November 12, and 7:00 p.m. on Thursday, November 14, and will run for four weeks, then break until January 7 for the final four weeks.

The first session will convene at St James Episcopal Church, 4 St. James Place, Essex Junction, but subsequent sessions may be held at other local churches as space permits.

Those interested in participating are asked to register in advance. The hosts would also like to know which sessions participants prefer (morning or evening), and finally, whether an evening start time of 5:30 p.m. or 7:00 p.m. may work best. For more information or to register, contact Michael Hechmer at mhechmer@me.com or the Rev. Kim Hardy at ammakim@stjamesvt.org. The schedule is as follows:

Session 1, Reconnecting With The Earth
Tues., Nov. 12 at 10:00 a.m. & Thurs., Nov. 14 at 7:00 p.m.

Session 2 Reconnecting With Compassion
Tues., Nov. 19 at 10:00 a.m. & Thur., Nov. 21 at 7:00 p.m.

Session 3 Reconnecting With The Light
Tues., Dec. 3 at 10:00 a.m. & Thurs. Dec. 5 at 7:00 p.m.

Session 4 Reconnecting With The Journey
Tues., Dec. 10 at 10:00 a.m. & Thurs. Dec. 12 at 7:00 p.m.

Session 5 Reconnecting With Spiritual Practice
Tues., Jan. 7 at 10:00 a.m. & Thurs., Jan. 9 at 7:00 p.m.

Session 6 Reconnecting With Non-Violence
Tues., Jan. 14 at 10:00 a.m. & Thurs., Jan. 16 at 7:00 p.m.

Session 7 Reconnecting With The Unconscious
Tues., Jan. 21 at 10:00 a.m. & Thurs., Jan. 23 at 7:00 p.m.

Session 8 Reconnecting With Love
Tues., Jan. 28 at 10:00 a.m. & Thurs., Jan. 30 at 7:00 p.m.

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email