Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

Standing Committee (Official Page)

The role of the Standing Committee is to be a council of advice to the bishop and to be ready to assume responsibility for the administration of the diocese and the process of electing a new bishop should there be a vacancy in the Office of the Bishop or should the bishop be unable to fulfill the responsibilities of the position. The Standing Committee has responsibility to consent to elections of bishops in the Episcopal Church, approve the acquisition, encumbrance or selling of property in the diocese and approve discernment, postulancy and ordination of priests and deacons in the diocese.The Standing Committee consists of four clergy and four lay people, with one person of each order being elected at each annual convention to serve four years. No member of the Standing Committee shall be eligible for re-election until one year after that member’s term has expired.

Contact Us

To contact the Standing Committee, please send an email to Scottie Emery-Ginn, president or Kim Hardy, secretary.


The Rev. Jennie M Anderson, term through 2022
The Rev. Stannard Baker, term through 2024
Scottie Emery-Ginn (president), term through 2022
The Rev. Kim Hardy (secretary), term through 2021
Lars Hunter, term through 2021
The Rt. Rev. Dr. Shannon MacVean-Brown
The Rev. Lisa Ransom, term through 2023
Tom Rees, term through 2024
Margaret “Maggie” Thompson, term through 2024

Leave a Reply

You may use: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Copyright © 2019 – 2023 The Episcopal Church in Vermont.