Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content


The Trustees of the Diocese of Vermont are a seven-member board elected during Diocesan Convention, one each year for a seven-year term. The Bishop of the Diocese serves as a Trustee Ex Officio. Trustees hold the titles to all diocesan properties, mission properties, as well as the properties of several congregations. They are responsible for all bequests to the Diocese and a Unit Trust Fund (making distributions quarterly) in which many congregations and diocesan institutions invest.


Benjamin Anderson-Ray, term through 2026
Laurel Broughton (secretary), term through 2021
Christopher Chapman, term through 2027
Sarah Cowan (president), term through 2024
Ellen McCulloch-Lovell (chair, Investment Committee), term through 2025
The Rev. Stephen Reynes, term through 2022
Steven Smith, term through 2023
The Rt. Rev. Shannon MacVean-Brown (ex-officio)
Gerry Davis, M.D. (ex-officio)
Pamela Van de Graaf (recording secretary)

Diocesan Unit Trust Fund

The Diocesan Unit Fund (“the Fund”) holds investments of the Episcopal Church in Vermont, its parishes, its missions and its other institutions. The Fund is currently managed by Hickok & Boardman of Burlington, Vermont, who are independent, registered advisors. They in turn work with Raymond James Financial Services, one of the country’s largest and most respected financial service companies.

Real Estate

Gift Policy

The Gift Acceptance Policy is administered by the Trustees of the Diocese and provides guidelines to representatives of the Trustees who may be involved in the review and acceptance of gifts, outside advisors who may assist in the gift planning process, and prospective donors who may wish to make gifts.

Copyright © 2019 – 2021 The Episcopal Church in Vermont.